If you’re gluten sensitive, you’re probably following a gluten-free diet, but it’s hard to know at fast-food restaurants like McDonald’s which items are right for your tummy.

Have you thought about trying McDonald’s fries, but wondering if they are gluten-free? We’ve got the surprising answer about fries and more gluten-free McDonald’s facts below!

Are McDonald’s fries gluten free?

Unfortunately, McDonald’s fries are not gluten-free because they contain both hydrolyzed wheat and milk, which are ingredients incorporated into the fries at the potato processing plant. The fries also contain natural beef flavoring to give them their famous taste.

If you’re wondering whether or not McDonald’s serves other gluten-free menu options and more, keep reading to find out!

What’s in McDonald’s fries?

McDonald’s fries are not considered gluten-free due to the wheat and milk derivatives in the potatoes themselves, which occur at the potato processing plant.

In addition to the above ingredients, McDonald’s fries also contain natural beef flavor, hydrogenated soybean oil, vegetable oil, dextrose, salt and sodium acid pyrophosphate.

Are hash browns gluten free at McDonald’s?

Since McDonald’s hash browns use the same potatoes as the fries, they are not gluten-free.

Wheat and milk are listed as ingredients for hash browns, just like they are for French fries.

Additionally, cross contamination is very likely since hash browns and fries are cooked in the same fryer.

LIRE  Subway Complaints UK 2024 (Making One + Contact Details)

Does McDonald’s have a gluten free menu?

Unfortunately, McDonald’s doesn’t have a dedicated gluten-free menu, so it can be difficult to know which products are safe for people with gluten sensitivities.

Likewise, it’s not too complicated to understand some gluten-free menu items, especially if you request that changes be made to the food while it’s being prepared.

Is there anything at McDonald’s that is gluten free?

Is there anything at McDonald's that is gluten free?

McDonald’s offers gluten-free options, especially if you’re willing to request changes to normal menu items.

For example, McDonald’s burgers are safe to eat if you’re gluten-free, but don’t get the bun (which can be replaced with lettuce).

Also, if you order a Big Mac, you should also tell the staff not to add the Big Mac sauce to keep the burger gluten-free. However, cross contamination is always a risk with burgers.

Gluten-free can also be found in most salads, although crispy chicken and tortilla strips should be avoided, so order salads without these options or have them removed beforehand.

For something sweeter, the McFlurry options without brownies, Oreos and cookies are perfect gluten-free options if you have a sweet tooth. As a bonus, a caramel or hot fudge sundae is also acceptable, as well as a parfait!

On top of that, drinks such as coffee, smoothies, and frappuccinos are delicious gluten-free options at McDonald’s.

LIRE  Can you freeze McDonald's chicken nuggets in 2024? (Complete Guide)

Does McDonald’s have gluten free buns?

At this time, McDonald’s does not offer gluten-free bun options to its customers and has no plans to add them to its menu. Almost all buns contain high levels of wheat.

Alternatively, you can always buy a pack of gluten-free buns and take one to take with you if you know you’re going to McDonald’s and want the full sandwich experience.

Likewise, you can skip bringing your brioche and just order the sandwich without the brioche to keep the gluten-free diet, even if it doesn’t taste the same.

Does McDonald’s offer gluten free breakfast?

McDonald’s eggs, bacon, and breakfast sausage are three gluten-free menu items you can order, but you must order them as sides to ensure no gluten touches these products.

Additionally, the fruit and yogurt parfait without granola and fruit and maple oatmeal are suitable for those sensitive to gluten. Apple slices are also a great breakfast snack.

Are McDonald’s salad dressings gluten free?

If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you’ll love that McDonald’s offers a gluten-free dressing that you can use on a variety of foods, including:

  • Newman’s Cobb Dressing
  • Newman’s Own Creamy Caesar Dressing
  • Newman’s Own Low Fat Balsamic Dressing
  • Newman’s Own Ranch Dressing

With any of the many salads McDonald’s offers, you can use these dressings to create your own gluten-free salad for lunch or dinner.

LIRE  Burger King Complaints in 2024 (How to Make One and More)

Gluten-free McDonald’s menu options exist in several countries outside the United States

Although McDonald’s in the United States does not specifically offer gluten-free diets, the fast food chain does offer gluten-free options in other countries, including:

  • Italy
  • Spain
  • The Netherlands
  • Portugal
  • Austria
  • Swiss
  • Denmark
  • Sweden
  • Norway
  • Finland
  • Hungary

Additionally, McDonald’s locations in these countries offer gluten-free buns so you can get the full sandwich experience, at no extra cost to you. Ask for it!

To learn more, you can also check out our related articles on whether McDonald’s fries are vegetarian or not, whether McDonald’s Frappes contain caffeine and when does McDonald’s serve lunch.

Conclusion

Unfortunately, McDonald’s fries are not gluten-free, but some people sensitive to gluten can eat them and claim no bad side effects.

If you have severe gluten sensitivity, it’s best not to even try them because they contain milk and wheat.

Even though McDonald’s fries are not gluten-free, there are still plenty of gluten-free options at McDonald’s so you can still eat fast food as often as you want.

Visit Les Gourmandises for more information.

Publications similaires

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *